“(Some of) it just works.” – Steve Jobs

Let’s just get this out of the way before anyone starts crying “fanboy” on me. The iPhone and iOS, in all of their iterations, are flawed just like every other smartphone and operating system. I understand this far more than most–I jailbreak my iPhone because, as much as I like it, there are changes I’d make to its functionality. As part of the jailbreaking community I am thankful for those with the extensive programming know-how who feel the same as I do.

 

I frequent tech blogs. As a smartphone owner I’m always checking this stuff out because it matters to me. I pay a lot of attention to iPhone/iOS stuff, which just makes sense to do. If the iPhone is causing any problems you can expect everyone to be jumping on it. That seems to be the thing to do. They’re so rampant that they turn into full-fledged memes. That’s when you know it’s bad. I definitely know that more than a fair share of users encounter these malfunctions and it’s not always their fault. Tech craps out. It happens, and it stinks.

Yet, none of it ever happens to me.

Am I honestly in that deep, deep minority of people whose devices just work? How do you get into that club? I’d like to recruit new members.

It’s the darnedest thing. No, I’m not secretly hoping that my 4S starts draining its battery on standby faster than Kim Kardashian’s wedding (I’ve my topical humor quota), or that it starts crashing like the Hindenburg. It’s just bizarre that I have to put my flame suit on whenever I say, “No problems here.”

It’s not just my iPhone. My Xbox has never red-ringed. My Camry’s pedal didn’t get stuck under the floor mat (obviously–I mean, somebody would have heard that story). Ever since getting rid of my VAIO I’ve experienced zero malfunctions (though I did accidentally lock my SIM once–my bad). If anything, you’d hear me complain about iTunes. Then again, there are plenty of reasons to hate iTunes, but I don’t even own that.

Should I rejoice that my very old Belkin Wireless G router needs to be reset every now and again?

Don’t get me wrong–I’m glad I have precious few to complain about in regards to the stuff I use.

It just gets really lonely here. :(

P.S. I’m running stock iOS5 because the 4S doesn’t have an available jailbreak yet. I’m perfectly happy with it. Not that I wouldn’t appreciate a jailbreak, though.

Leave a Reply

